Back to top

Norbury C of E Primary School

NorburyC of E Primary School

Laughter and Learning in a
Caring Christian School

Governing Body Structure

The Norbury Primary School Governing Body comprises of 13 Governors:

  • Headteacher
  • 1 x Local Authority Governor
  • 4 x Parent Governors
  • 1 x Staff Governor
  • 4 x Co-opted Governors
  • 2 x Foundation Governors

Appointment Process

Parent Governors are elected by the Parents, Staff Governors are elected by the Staff. Local Authority Governors are nominated by the Local Authority and appointed by the Governing Body whilst Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body. Foundation governors are appointed to the governing boards of voluntary controlled and voluntary aided schools to preserve the religious character of the school. 

Structure of the Norbury Primary School Governing Body

At Norbury Primary School our Chair of Governors leads the Governing Body with the support of the Vice-Chair. The Governing Body currently meets four times a year for a Full Governing Board (FGB) meeting.  

The Governing Board has the ability to delegate responsibility to a committee of Governors.

Finance, Premises and Equipment Committee

Quality of Education Committee

Personal Development & Distinctiveness as a Church School Committee

HR & Wellbeing Committee


The minutes of Governor meetings are available in school on request (Confidential matters are minuted separately and are not available for viewing). Please direct all enquiries to the Clerk to Governors, Mrs Katherine Collins, who is contactable as follows:

Address:  Norbury CE Primary School, Lid Lane, Roston, Ashbourne, DE65 6NB

Telephone (office hours):  01335 324337